Overcoming Mediocrity On The Path To Becoming World-Class

Overcoming Mediocrity On The Path To Becoming World-Class

Every person is faced with these three options no matter where they're at in life. We can choose to be excellent, good enough or mediocre...

Table of contents

Mediocrity, for those who don't know, is the state of being satisfied with low-quality results. It's when a thing is neither good nor bad, it simply exists. Worst still, it is ordinary, average, unworthy-of-note, inferior and undistinguished. I bet by now you're like, "ugh...yuck!" Who wants to be that right? We are anti-mediocrity on this space. Say it with me, "anti-medeeyo-cree-tee". Good. On to the full gist.

Victoria:

When you're a woman on a mission, one of the best things is to have a World-class Team, howbeit a budding one. Anyone who has gone ahead to dare a daunting feat knows that there comes a point where you have to make a decision to be relevant. That point for my team, was this week. I had the insight to foresee the coming task and help my teammates prepare for it ahead of time. When you have this kind of advantage, it becomes pretty easy to slip up.

Overcoming Mediocrity Hashnode 7.jpg

Some of my team members almost fell into the mediocre trap. Yes, it's a trap and an enemy to all things World-class. Don't ever be tempted to fall into this ditch. It's a terrible position to be in. Anyway, they got over it and we made some beautiful art together. This here, is the essence of having a team. They help you up when you're slipping off. Moving on, look how good my Canva skills are getting.

Overcoming Mediocrity Hashnode 6.jpg

Me doing my victory dance right now 💃🏽

Personally, I'm flourishing. It's been a very exciting journey and I'm shining through it all. Get ready sectors, I'm running up with a shout!

Aishah:

And Week 3 is a wrap! (Oh my! Mixed Feelings🥺). It feels good knowing that your effort and hard work will be worth it all in the end. It's a great feeling, really.

A little back story (This week is for story, I know you like it☺️).

So, I saw a job posting for an entry-level Content Writer on Thursday (23rd of June, 2022) and I decided to check it out. I clicked the link, went through the requirements and my eyes landed on this particular requirement. It read, "Hands-on experience with Content Management Systems (e.g. WordPress)".

Right at that point, I heaved a sigh of relief and was happy. Do you know why? WordPress is a key requirement for any Content Writing job. I used to think it was such a big deal and that I wouldn't be able to master it but trust Side Hustle to push you to your limits and bring out the perfection in you. That's what they've been doing and I'm all in for it! (End-of-story…😌)

Overcoming Mediocrity Hashnode 8.jpg

So, according to our content calendar, I had to publish an article on WordPress. After writing the article on Wednesday (22nd of June, 2022), I spent nearly 6 hours the next day watching videos and reading articles on how to navigate WordPress. It stressed me out and got me tired but I didn't give up. I'm glad I went through the process. Finally, I got to publish my article at about 2pm that same day. This further made me certain that I won't remain the same after this whole adventure. I love the changes I'm seeing already😍😍😍.

Cheers to more growth and more challenging adventures. Yes, it's an adventure. PS: Watch out for my blog, we are launching pretty soon 🥳.

Your Favourite Content Creator, Aishah!

Oyinlola:

After two weeks of hard work and dedication, week three came with its own demands and it was time to get to work. The task for this week was to create graphic content for our blog and implement a one-week content calendar. We were also asked to drive traffic from social media. I was put in charge of the outreach platform on Quora on the directive of our Team Lead. This means that I had to drive traffic from there to our blog. I knew that this week's task would be a challenge, but I was ready for it. I worked diligently all week long, and by the end of it, I was exhausted. But what mattered was that I had done what I set out to do and our blog looked great. In all, it was another successful week thanks to our hard work and commitment.

Zaynab:

This week's project was so interesting. We didn't have much to do because our Team Lead was proactive and was able to foreshadow the likely task we were to be given as of last week.

So basically, we were to continue running our blog with infographics created with Canva. The Team Leader created a Task Schedule and I was assigned to write and post a new article on Thursday. The topic was very interesting as I was a bit familiar with it. It was about a homemade shawarma recipe. I just had to do a bit of research and tweak it in a way that would be very interesting. I also created the Canva design and safe to say, it was okay. Although it wasn't as perfect as what some other people did.

Overcoming Mediocrity Hashnode 2.jpg

My only problem was my ignorance of WordPress. I tried to have my Team Lead upload my write-up for me but she was bent on me doing it myself as she wanted me to learn to do it for myself. And safe to say, I was successful.

So that's all about this week for me. I look forward to next week and I hope it will be fun.

Love, Zaynab.

Mayowa:

This week's project was great. I started it with a spirit of diligence, planned my week and was disciplined enough to follow it diligently. Monday started with @drey sending in the task. We were to create graphics to promote our blog using Canva. My Team Lead created a Task Scheduled where she gave us insights into what formats the design could take: infographics, photo collage or slide animation. Yes, I did it.

Overcoming Mediocrity Hashnode 3.jpg

On Tuesday we were to meet for our team meeting on Google Meet and for the very first time, I was able to attend. Praise God.. Lol. We received our task and we started work. Then I lost all my plans on Wednesday. I didn't make designs till Thursday after which I had issues with the designs. I was to post on Reddit. I had issues accessing my account. But I learned one thing this week: a plan without discipline is crippled.

Thank you so much World-class Team.

Susan:

At the point where I was like, "I can’t take it anymore!", Side Hustle Bootcamp stretched me to my limits… And that was when week 3 task came! It was like we were all racing against time. Using Canva, we were to create graphic content for the blog we launched last week, create a one-week calendar for the blog, implement it and drive traffic to it from social media.

As expected our Team Lead and a few very committed team members came all out and wielded their magic wands….and before I knew it, we had lots of graphic content and I was challenged to try my hands on one at the last minute. Portfolio-Digital-Marketing-and-Content-Creation-Team-4 guys are made to do exploits.

Victoria leads by example and the World-class team will inspire you to do the impossible.

Overcoming Mediocrity Hashnode 5.jpg

Challenges

You guessed it right, mediocrity. But by the grace of God we came, we conquered and we're World-class material. Yay!